Main page

Chairman: Prof. Dr. Shamshad Akhtar

The Department of Geography is one of the primate departments of the University, established in November 1952. It was assiduously built up and maintained steady progress under its distinguished Chairmen: Dr. M.B. Pithawala, Dr. Oskar Schmineder, Dr. Ibadur Rahman Khan, Dr. Shamsul Islam Siddiqui, Dr. Mohammad Ismail Siddiqui, Mr. Abdur Rauf Khan, Mrs. Jamila Sarwar, Dr. Fazle Karim Khan, Dr. Iqtidar Husain Zaidi, Dr. Qazi Shakil Ahmed, Mr. Asif Ali, Dr. (Mrs.) Razia Afzal Niazi, Prof. Dr. Birjies Talat, Prof. Dr. Farkhunda Burke, Prof. Dr. Syed Jamil H. Kazmi, Prof. Dr. Khalida Mahmood, and the current Chairman: Prof. Dr. Shamshad Akhtar. The Department has been eminently served by internationally known geographers and teachers including the young and enthusiastic faculty members.


Career Opportunities

Geography graduates with Master's degree generally find useful employment in some major fields, i.e. education, administration, and private organizations. Their specialty and expertise is utilized by development authorities and agencies throughout the country. In particular government departments i.e. the Survey of Pakistan, Statistical Bureau, Population Census, SUPARCO, Archeological Department, Planning Commission, and provincial departments of planning and development have employed geographers for their special skills. Private firms, and Non-governmental Organizations (NGOs) also utilize the expertise of geographers.
There are various fields of application in Pakistan where geographer can explores job opportunities successfully.


Industrial Link

National and Multinational Organizations where the Graduates of the Department occupy key positions.
  • Geological Survey of Pakistan (GSP)
  • Water & Power Development Authority (WAPDA)
  • Geoscience Lab
  • Natural History Museum
  • Saindak Metal Mines Ltd.
  • Pakistan Mineral Development Corporation (PMDC)
  • Pakistan Steels
  • Ministry of Petroleum (Petroleum Cell)
  • Private Sectors
  • Civil Services of Pakistan
  • Defense Science & Technology Organization
  • Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission
  • Minerals International Exploration Inc. (BHP)
  • Allen Mor
  • Karachi Development Authority (KDA)
  • Hydrocarbon Development Institute of Pakistan
  • HUB CO Power Project
  • Balochistan Development Authority (BDA)
  • Pakland Cement Ltd.
  • Ceramic Industries
  • Universities of Pakistan, USA, Canada, Middle East, Singapore, Malaysia etc.
  • Oil and Services Companies
  • Baker Hughes Inteq (BHI)
  • Oil & Gas Development Corporation (OGDC)
  • Union Texas Pakistan Incorporated (UTP)
  • Pakistan Petroleum Ltd. (PPL)
  • LASMO Oil Pakistan Ltd. (LASMO)
  • Occidental of Pakistan Inc. (OPI)
  • United Mineral Corporation (UMC)
  • Pakistan Oil Field Ltd. (POL)
  • Associated Mineral Industry (AMI)
  • Spyerry-Sun
  • BHP
  • Geoservices





Department of Geography, University of Karachi is celebrated its Diamond Jubilee from 6th to 8th November 2012, in the Department/University as per deliberations of members of the Organizing Committee and Alumni :: Read More | Ad | Portfolio